What I did on 8 December 2015

I’m writing this a bit earlier than normal as I’m going out this evening. This morning we got our first Christmas card, from our friends in Barcelona. This is taking me quite a while to write as I’m only using one hand…

I was making fudge for the tennis coaches (I think there would be an uprising if they didn’t get their Christmas fudge) and I managed to spill some on my hand. I don’t think you can really learn to make fudge from a book, we learnt from some friends and have subsequently taught some of our friends. One friend we taught went back to Kenya and set up a business with it! I know that there are lots of different opinions on what fudge should be like but we make it vanilla (when we remember…) and it’s sort of soft and crumbly. I don’t mind some flavoured fudges but we have never made anything except vanilla. One thing I can’t stand is fudge (or anything) made with unsalted butter. I can immediately taste the difference and it is not welcome.

IMG_2588

Our fudge cooling before being cut. I’ll spare you the photo of my burn!

The only good thing about my burn is that I get to put lots of lavender on it so I can go around smelling of lavender. Luckily I managed to carefully spray the fudge so that I didn’t get burnt in any spots which would inhibit my clarinet, cello or tennis. I also to got to send a photo of it to my father to scare him…

So what else happened today…? I found out that a very unlucky baby has been named Saint West… Wouldn’t be allowed in Iceland or New Zealand or other places where they can stop you naming your baby certain names. I did my sister’s hair in a Jane Bennet style today, a sort of plaited bun with plaited loops coming out of it, inspired by last nights viewing. I did a Dutch fishtail on myself, before I burnt my hand. Oh my goodness it gets dark so early now! I hope everyone in the southern hemisphere is enjoying the light!

 

 

Leave a Reply

